The ability to foretell appropriate predictions, depends on how familiar is an Astrologer with the rules of Astrology. In Astrology, rules may be beyond one’s common sense or patterns. It is a theological science and therefore may not explain the reasons for a said rule. Certain rules are difficult to believe but it is the way in which the rule works for the native.

Judgement of horoscope needs great skills and analysis. Students of Astrology often get frustrated since they are not in a position to interpret a tricky arrangement. Astrology, sometimes, does not follow mathematical rules. In the mathematics, two negatives may make a positive but the rule does not hold good in Astrology.

Keeping in view the difficulties, we will give a step by step approach to understanding interpretations. Our approach will be to read in easy, concise and timely manner.

The charts necessary for Reading

  1. Basic chart : This is also known as Janam Kundali (or) Janam Pathrika/Rasi Chart
  2. Chart with Moon as Lagna : It is important to read from Moon’s placement like Lagna.

The predictions are told from Lagna and Moon sign also.  In both the charts, if planets are well placed, then they may turn fully benefic. If the houses are strong in both the charts, then responsibilities of those houses will be fulfilled.

  • Divisional charts : Normally, 16 kinds of Divisional (or) Varga charts will be used for predictions, out of which Navamsa will be an important Varga or Divisional chart. If a planet is well placed in both Rasi and navamsa, then they are considered to be strong and give benefic results. For example, if a planet is placed in both Rasi and Navamsa chart in the same house, then the planet is said to be Vargottama. This Vargottama planet will give excellent results during its dasa/bhukthi and also will fulfil its responsibilities. If planet is well placed in Rasi and not in Navamsa, then the benefic result of the planet will be considerably reduced.
  • Dasa system : A planet even if it is strong, the native has to run its Dasa to enjoy the full benefits of the planet. Raja Yogas manifest during the Dasa of a planet. One can also treat Dasa Lord placement as the Lagna and come out with predictions for the Dasa period. If the second house from Dasa Lord is strong, then there may be gain of wealth by the native.
  • Transit of Planets : Transit of major planets are of vital importance in predicting the future. Major planets namely Saturn, Jupiter, Rahu and Ketu stay for considerable time in Rasi. The effect of these planets should be read from the Moon sign. Transits will give 25% result and Dasa/Bhukthi will be 75% results. One should be able to balance out both the effects and give predictions to the native.
  • Assessment with rising sign : Rising sign is an important aspect of reading a horoscope. It tells about the soul, physical appearance, attitude, resilience, intelligence, etc. about the native. First we have to see how many planets are in its own house and exaltation, these houses are naturally strong and fortified. Such houses and planets will give benefic results to the native. All Rasis will have their own nature and manifestation. For example, Aries Rasi shows one’s physical energy, aggressiveness, fighting abilities, etc and Virgo might tell about the intellect and wisdom part of a native.
  • Placement of planets – an assessment

Rasis are divided into three types

  1. Chara Rasi
  2. Sthira Rasi
  3. Dwishbhava Rasi (or) Dual Rasi

The person born in chara Rasi is fond of travelling (or) moving from one place to another. His ideas keep on changing and therefore his actions. The person born in Sthira Rasi is one with steady mind and a fixed set of behaviour. Normally, lives in a particular place without travelling much. Those born in dual signs sometimes act like Chara Rasi people and in other times act like Sthira Rasi natives. If majority of the planets are in a fiery sign, then the person is ambitious. If it is in earthy sign, then they are more practical and earthy in nature. If it is in an airy sign and watery sign, then they are fond of reading, emotional, receptive, etc. respectively.

Let us continue to see the topic of interpretations in Part 2.


Guravey sarva lokaanaam, Bishajey bhava rohinaam

Nidhaye sarva vidyanaam, Shree dakshinaa moorthaye namaha


We bow to the universal guru who is the teacher of the entire world and the healer of all diseases.